To Hillary Clinton – From a mom

hillary-transparentDear Hillary,

I had this idea several weeks ago: when you won, I was going to write you a letter and post it on my blog. And then you lost. Huh.

I considered writing a letter to Trump today, but guess what: I didn’t.

I’m writing to you because of this statement from your concession speech:

“And to all of the little girls who are watching this, never doubt that you are valuable and powerful and deserving of every chance and opportunity in the world to pursue and achieve your dreams.”

I am not a Democrat.

I am not a Republican.

I AM a believer of my daughter’s potential.

I can get behind your statement with absolute commitment.

I want my little girl to grow up feeling this way about herself. My parents instilled in me the same confidence and with it, I’ve pursued multiple college degrees, a successful career, and made my decisive choice to stay home with my children.

Today, I think more and more about how I can be involved in serving my country, because of your campaign. I truly thought that today we would be hearing about our country electing the first woman president in our history. Huh.

I will tell my little girl that she is valuable. She is powerful. She is deserving. She should pursue her dreams.

And I will tell my little boy that he is loving. He is kind. He is a gentleman.

Because women’s rights and chivalry can exist together.

Sincerely,

A Mom

2 comments

Leave a Reply

