Episode 38: My Food Schedule

Right now, I AM STARVING. Seriously. The hunger pangs have spread up from my stomach and are starting to put pressure on my lungs. I am JUST THAT HUNGRY. It’s only 12:30 p.m. so what’s my problem?

Well to start off, I’ve only had ¼ of a rice krispy treat for breakfast today. I know. Very dumb. Especially because I started a “diet” that puts much importance on starting off with a big, hearty breakfast*. I should never skip breakfast.

Also, I have trained my stomach. Yes, I have taught that hollow muscular organ of mine that mingles with the gastrointestinal tract to get really disturbed by about 11:30 a.m. if I haven’t fed it lunch yet. But, this ONLY occurs Mondays thru Fridays.

Saturdays and Sundays, I eat at all sorts of random times. Really. It’s all over the board.

I don’t know when “normal” people in the work world eat their lunches, but for me, waiting around for the Chinese to be delivered today is causing me major pains. It better be some MIGHTY tasty beef and snow peas… at least as good as the cod I made last night with fennel, onions, olives, parsley, and extra virgin olive oil**.

On an average work day, I eat breakfast at 9:00 a.m. Seems like lunch by 11:00 a.m. is a bit early, but IT’S NOT. And then, by 2:00 p.m., I end up roaming around the break rooms looking for something that looks appetizing in the vending machines, but they just aren’t stocked with what I want. You’d think I’d go to the store and buy those things myself then, right? Okay, here’s the shopping list for my next trip to Albertson’s:

  1. Zingers
  2. Hostess Cup Cakes
  3. Kit-Kats
  4. Butterfingers
  5. Cadbury Curly-Wurlys (purchased at an Albertson’s that is apparently in England somewhere)
  6. Idaho Spuds***
  7. Pink-frosted sugar cookies
  8. And Otter Pops

*Okay, those who know me best know that I don’t have the willpower to be on a REAL diet. It’s more of just changing my eating habits to make breakfast my largest meal of the day, lunch is the medium size and dinner is for baby bear (yaknow, in goldilocks where the baby bear has the smallest porridge, chair and bed? Clever, I know).

**Right about now, my mom is über proud of me for eating FISH!

***Up until about three months ago, I had never once eaten one of these candy bars. I mean, come on, who wants to eat a potato covered in chocolate? I was so wrong. After my titanium toe surgery, Elder Oaks gave me one via my mother and I felt obliged to eat it. It was coconut, cocoa-marshmallow, chocolate GOODNESS. Yum.

Leave a Reply

