In the garden of Edith

garden-of-edithWe lunched today in Grandma DeeDee’s garden. I wanted to see her latest project, the parking strip in the front where she replaced the sod with blooms and green, a bird bath, a bird house, a bench, and a path through the beauty. She told me about wanting to do this last year and I wished her luck. She’s only 98 so why not come up with a new project? As we pulled up to her house, Dom looked outside and saw her home, in spring bloom, and simply said, “whoa”.

He climbed out and disappeared into her yard while I gathered our stuff and Gabbi. Eventually, he came back to find me and inform me that I needed to come with him. I needed to see all of the flowers. I needed to smell them all with him. He instructed me on how to smell them, leading by example, and watching me as I copied.

We sat on a blanket on the lawn in the backyard, eating our PB&Js. Dom would give Grandma pieces of his crust and she would eat them, making faces at him, which made him giggle and laugh.

“Eating the crusts will make your teeth strong,” she said. He picked off more crust and ate it himself, smiling at her.

Later, she sat on a bench while Dom searched for potato bugs.

grandmas-garden

dom-in-the-gardenGrandma told me about working on her project and how her sons helped her dig out roots, how she paid a boy that needed odd jobs to dig out the sod, and how she teaches piano to a family in her ward and they helped her afford the concrete pavers, bird bath, and bench because they owned the shop where she purchased them. She explained how she and my uncle dug up peonies from the back, split the roots, and planted them throughout the front. The blooms were just about to pop open today.

It was a group project. Grandma was the project manager. Turns out, nearly a century of experience and hard work makes you an excellent PM! She should be a consultant… in all of her spare time.

I had to leave sooner than I wanted to get home for nap time.

I only wish these cell phone pics were scratch and sniff.

 

dom-smelling

gabbi-in-the-garden

3 comments

Leave a Reply

