Testing the ol’ muscles

I MAY have overdone things last weekend and I MAY still be paying the price. Some things have been difficult lately:
Stepping over the baby gate
Swinging my legs into the car
Getting up from a chair

I decided it would be an amazing idea to strap Dom into the jogging stroller and skip to my loo to daycare on Friday morning. There and back was 3.2 miles. I haven’t run more than a mile in months. But that’s how I roll it seems: go big and do your best to get back home. I wanted to walk back home but I was supposed to be back online teleworking.

Hurry Larrie! The group IM conversation is waiting for you! There are unread emails! Exclamation points!!!

I stumbled into our driveway, pushing an empty stroller, Dom happily playing at daycare, 45 minutes after departure. Speedy.

I already knew that my muscles needed some help now so I finished up some teleworking, headed into the office for a meeting, then followed that up with the yoga class in our corporate wellness center (fancy-clancy name for a gym at work).

Somehow I always forget that yoga is hard. It is not relaxing. You do not spend an hour sitting on a mat humming and counting breaths. It is not easy on your leg muscles to hold poses.

And did I mention I have zero flexibility? I can’t even touch my knees; toes are totally out of the question.

So that was Friday: running the daycare 5k in the morning followed by the yoga shakes at lunch. (Holding poses=shaky)

I followed that up with my first soccer game of the season on Saturday.

In case you were wondering, none of the muscles in my hands are sore.

2 comments

  1. Yup, that’s how I do it as well. If I’m not totally trashing my body to the point of complete exhaustion, my heart just doesn’t see the point in exercising at all. But man. all of those activities you’re doing make me realize what a slacker I’ve been. Must take the boys out with the jogging stroller. and that yoga class sounds fantastic. I should find something like that as well. and work up to the point where I can touch my knees if nothing else just so that I can make you super jealous. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

