Never sleeping in

I have never been a morning person. When my mom signed me up for kindergarten, she told me she would put me in afternoon classes because those DIDN’T start in the morning. Kindergarten, people.

And then in 4th grade, I spent a month at home with mono. This is what I blame for my poor sleep habits since then. Mono. It wrecked me.

Now, as a mom, I don’t get to go to afternoon Kindergarten or spend a month at home with mono. I woke up this morning at 6:45.

6:45

A.M.

On a Saturday.

I rolled over, checked the monitor and saw that Dom was awake. I dropped my head back onto the bed and closed my eyes. He wasn’t crying so I didn’t have to get up yet. But I would soon.

This morning, before it was even 9:00 a.m., I had gotten myself dressed, Dom was dressed, we had jogged over to an elementary school, he went down the slide a couple of times, we jogged back, I filled a pot with water from the artesian well in our backyard, then we came inside and started making eggs for breakfast while boiling the water to purify it.

Just a typical Saturday morning. Now.

Once upon a time, I could sleep in until noon on Saturdays. I do miss sleep, but I don’t miss wasting my Saturdays like that.

3 comments

  1. I’ve taken to falling asleep at 10 and getting up at 630. I don’t even have children. I hit 30 and it became physically painful for me to stay up past midnight. Where has my youth gone?

    Like

Leave a Reply

