Confession: I Never Learned to Speed Read

I’ve purchased books on “how to speed read” before, but never got around to reading them. I found that, well, humorous.

I felt like it was a skill I should probably learn in order to survive as an English major. Somehow, I survived without it. I read most of the books I was assigned to read in classes. I drank a lot of caffeine to succeed.

Well, in case you were wondering, Staples has this test to see how fast you read. I’m sure it’s incredibly accurate, being that it’s Staples’s test and all. I did it twice and got almost the same score both times. Turns out, I don’t read fairly fast, and it’s definitely not speed reading:

You read 464 words per minute.
That makes you 86% faster than the national average.

Here’s a link to take it yourself. Then tell me: how did you do?

ereader test
Source: Staples eReader Department

2 comments

  1. Reading at a natural pace I was at 446 wpm. Reading as fast as I could I hit 967 (and still got all 3 questions right). I don’t think I could really keep that pace for very long and still comprehend much, though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

