What Would You Take?

The Rockport fire started up yesterday when lightning struck. As I drove into work this morning, I could see the black smoke just peering over the mountains east of Hogle Zoo. So far, it’s burned around 2000 acres and 13 homes, with 300 evacuated. People were asked to flee their homes.

Literally.

Flee now.

The fire was that fast and the windy weather made it unpredictable.

Courtesy of Kristina Pluta Jansen Jacobson paddleboards Tuesday in Rockport Reservoir to the east of the Rockport 5 Fire in Summit County.

Courtesy of Kristina Pluta Jansen Jacobson paddleboards Tuesday in Rockport Reservoir to the east of the Rockport 5 Fire in Summit County.

So that got me to thinking: if somebody knocked on my door and told me, “You have 5 minutes to leave and you may never return,” what would I take?

My parents gave me a 72 hour kit for Christmas several years ago. I believe that it’s somewhere in their garage. I really should find out where it is.

I don’t have a 72 hour kit for Dom. I don’t think that Nathan has one, but I realize, as I type this, that I’ve never actually asked him. I don’t have one for Pogi, either. Should I?

I used to have a 3-ring binder with all of my important documents in it. This was back when I was single and organized because it was EASY to be organized (in other words, I didn’t have a mortgage, car title, insurance forms, marriage license, a child, etc).

Perhaps this is what I would take:

  • the NAS (network attached storage) with many many pictures, videos, documents, and music
  • any of those important documents I could quickly find, which might really just mean passports
  • extra diapers for Dominic
  • clothes and blankets
  • food for Pogi
  • and then I’d hope that I could go somewhere to buy the rest

What would YOU take?

2 comments

  1. So, I had a similar trout a couple months ago. Found this awesome website called foodstoragemadeeasy.com. They send out free newsletters every three weeks or so to help you get prepared. First couple of checklists are 72 hour kits and a binder of important papers. I’ve really liked it. You should check it out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

