Pogi, Dom’s Shadow

bedtime_pogiI suppose that Dominic doesn’t have a choice in this.

He owns a cat.

I did not think that Pogi would prefer Dom very much. Prior to Dom’s birth, when children would come over, where do you think Pogi would usually go? Under the bed of course. Every now and then, a careful and patient child would coax him out. And how often, would you say, does a child prefer to be careful and patient?

Pogi would play with Kate, but it would take her 10-15 minutes to convince him she wouldn’t grab his tail or yank out his fur and so it was safe to creep out from under the bed. I must admit, it was impressive to see this little 4-year old (at the time) be patient just so she could play fetch with Pogi.

Babies aren’t patient. They make a lot of noise. They flail. They clench their fists around things. Pogi was sure to dislike this new family member when Dom came home.

And he did for the first couple of weeks, hissing at baby Dom.

When Pogi was curled up in his cat bed, I would hold out Dom’s hand and have him pet the cat. Guess how much Pogi loved that? At first he hissed, then tolerated, then attempted to ignore us. Then one day, Pogi reached up to Dom’s hand, sniffed it, and rubbed his cheek against it. I must admit, I was surprised.

“Wow, Dom! Pogi likes you!” Dom didn’t even look up at me. He wasn’t looking at Pogi either. I think he was still learning to focus. I had to be surprised on my own.

Eventually, Pogi came in one morning and dropped his toy next to Dominic instead of by me. I started teaching Dom to hold Pogi’s toy for him. I’m sure he learned so much.

Now, Pogi wants to be everywhere Dom is. At times, it’s annoying because I have to go and find him somewhere in Dom’s room (in the closet, under the crib, under the chair) before I can shut his door for his nap. If Pogi’s left in there, eventually he starts meowing. Bad cat.

Tonight, as Nathan was reading Dominic his bedtime stories, Pogi was nearby. He was already preparing a new hiding place so I couldn’t drag him out of the room when Dom went to bed, but as you can see from the picture, it was rather obvious. I’m sure that Pogi thought it was perfect, though. He even shook his little bum while hiding under the playmat as though he was going to suddenly pounce on me and the camera in the hall.

Well, Dominic, you have a cat named Pogi and Pogi can’t wait until you learn to throw.

pogi_yawn

2 comments

Leave a Reply

