Chill Dom

Too Light!We didn’t have any milk this morning. Curses! But on the flip side, it meant that I could use this awesome “no milk” cartoon of mine again. Remember when I used to doodle cartoons? Yeah, I do, too. Turns out, taking care of an infant is not something I can multitask very well with. I suppose that I better learn. I keep thinking that I will clean things while he naps, but then all I do is go to the bathroom, eat some food, and Dom is awake again. Lately his naps have been maybe 30-45 minutes and it seems I cannot get a lot done during that time frame. I had this crazy idea that I would do this workout at home during one of those naps at least ONCE this week. Ask me how many times I actually did.

We could have gone to the store to buy milk for breakfast, but have you seen THE AIR?! You might die if you cracked your door open. Instead, we spent the day wandering around the house with a caulking gun searching for any cracks where the deathly outside air might seep its way in and murder us in our cozy little condo. Or… we didn’t.

With Nathan home on Saturdays, I think that I finally will clean things, but instead, the focus was on making some decent food instead of just eating cereal (remember how there’s no milk? how quickly you forget…). For breakfast, I made a hash (not hash, A hash–we don’t do drugs round here) with potatoes, green peppers, onions, garlic, ham, eggs and cheese. Oh and plenty of butter, too, because I AM my mother’s daughter. Nathan took the delicious and extremely juicy grapefruit we had left from Mom & Dad Elkins (grown sweet and fresh in Texas!) and squeezed out a pitcher full of fresh grapefruit juice! It was sinfully delicious. That was breakfast. Dom’s breakfast was breast milk. For lunch, Nathan ate 50 chicken wings and I had a roasted sweet potato salad made with watercress, walnuts, feta and a vinaigrette. This is because my mother and my aunt both told me to eat lots of sweet potatoes. I try. And I haven’t been eating wheat. Try that some time. Not as easy as you might think. Turns out, I ate wheat for EVERY meal AND snack. Even Butterfingers have wheat. Sigh.

Anyway, I made an “iffy” attempt at throwing together a little Dominic montage video for Grandma Elkins. We call it chill Dom. It makes it seem like life is just roses and butterflies with this little guy. He NEVER cries. Just sits around staring or smiling. That’s it. He has only two emotions so far. Yep.

We love him despite any crying and fussing. He is, after all, living in this wonderful telestial world.

3 comments

  1. man, that video was really impressive. lots of pro stuff that I sure have no clue how to do. and little Dom sure does look chill and adorable. You definitely did a great job at portraying what a cake walk it is to take care of a baby. Because it totally is.

    Like

  2. I chuckled everytime I saw him all bundled up in the Gap hoodie laying so still. It was a really cute video! Those 30-45 min naps are hard and I never got anything done either!

    Like

  3. I think watching that video, especially the parts with Dom’s sleepy eyes, would easily put me into a happy slumber any night of the week. Sleeping babies are the best! If only they’d do it more often, eh?

    Like

Leave a Reply

