Living the High Life

As a kid, my kindergarten teacher asked me what I wanted to be when I grow up and I told her: Vice President of the company that my Dad worked for. I had no idea that I wanted to grow up to be a Business Analyst.

Nathan and I went down to the Manti temple a few weekends back and had a relaxing afternoon there with his Aunt. As we drove down and passed through many small, Utah towns, I couldn’t help but wonder: what did these people do for a living?

Today at lunch with my friend, Taanya, we talked about how we’re impressed with our friends that actually know what they want to do and chase their dream.

I couldn’t say ever that it was a dream of mine to do the job that I currently do. Today, I like it. Mostly it’s because I like the people that I get to work with and the challenges that come with the job. It’s good to be challenged. But I couldn’t tell you otherwise about some dream job I have. I even turned down the opportunity to work for that company from my kindergarten aspirations and stayed where I am.

Do you ever have days when you stop what you’re doing and think about how crazy it is that you are where you are, doing what you do and knowing what you know?

What’s your dream job and are you doing it?

Being a parent?

Leave a Reply

