If Your Butt Hurts, Don’t Go To Disneyland

Yesterday I worked from home. This means that I spent my day with a headset on, talking to coworkers through the attached mic, or typing away in emails or IM. I also spent the day listening to the downstairs neighbor’s TV and the upstairs neighbors walking around all day. (Not so bad except their floors are CRAZY CREAKY.)

I asked Nathan, “Who are these people that sit home all day?”

He reminded me that I was home, too.

That evening we ate dinner. Delicious, of course: corned beef, cabbage, potatoes with some horseradish.

Then it was off to the gym. As we were using our unique fingerprints to sign in at the 24 Hour Fitness desk, the guy behind the desk asked us, “What are you working out today?”

I deferred to Nathan.

“We could do legs.”

“Yeah, I don’t have soccer tomorrow,” I agree, but grimaced. Legs are tiring.

And so we did legs and halfway through lunges (the second lift) I was wobbly. We attempted to play a little basketball before leaving the gym. That was funny. I could sort of run, but stopping on a dime, definitely not happening. I should have tried. I would have collapsed to the floor and whatever guy was shooting around on the other side of the gym would have wondered what Nathan was doing to me.

Today, I worked in the office and spent much of my time sitting at my computer or in meetings.

I couldn’t even run now if I tried, let alone attempt to stop on a dime thanks to all of that sitting on sore muscles.

I really hope that I can make it up the stairs to the front door when I get home.

So what does that have to do with Disneyland? Well, let me tell you.

A few years ago, I did a leg workout with my brothers the day before we went to Disneyland. It was a no good, very bad decision. I lost a pair of sunglasses on the Matterhorn because of it. Sitting was too painful especially on the bobsleds you ride in for that ride. So once strapped in, I grabbed onto the bars at my side and lifted my butt up in the air. I rode the entire ride like that.

When my sunglasses, which were clipped to the front of my shirt, started to come loose on one of the high-speed turns, I had to make a choice. Catch the sunglasses and have to drop down onto your butt, or keep holding myself in the air.

I made my choice and somewhere in the mountain, an abominable snowman is sporting my sunglasses.

One comment

  1. lol sounds like you made the right choice with the sunglasses. Reading this has really made me feel like a big time slacker when it comes to working out. I’ve been just terrible, especially lately. sounds like you and nathan are really living the life…always eating tasty food, working out, and playing all day. I can’t think of anything that sounds dreamier. except I’d have to substitute all sports that require coordination with stuff like jumping on a trampoline. I can handle the basics of that pretty well. at least on a good day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

