What Are Your Top 5 Character Strengths?

I’m listening to the audio book, The Happiness Advantage, and the book mentioned an online survey. Thankfully, it is a recently published book so the website referenced is still up and running.

It’s not like it was published 15 years ago and the website was hosted by Geocities.

Anyway…

I went online the other day to check it out and surfed on over to The VIA Survey of Character. I now had a couple hundred questions between me and knowing my personal character strengths.

Oh man. I couldn’t wait to find out and tried to rush through the questions. But it made me think. And took 30 minutes. Good thing I have staying power.

Oh wait. No I don’t. Several of the questions addressed my staying power, asking me whether I always finished projects that I started. I don’t. I’m an ABANDONER. I have curtains that are still folded up in their plastic packaging in the hall closet. They’ve been gathering dust since I moved in over three years ago. Don’t even ask me about the mail stashed in random piles in random places that needs to be filed. Thankfully, being an abandoner is a weakness, not strength so this survey wasn’t going to tell me what I already knew.

Continuing on…

Let me share with you the REASON that I wanted to know my 5 greatest strengths. It wasn’t just so I could blog about something or so that I could go around telling people about my greatness.

It’s simply this: HAPPINESS.

In The Happiness Advantage, Achor, the author, said that people were happier that did SOMETHING each day that related to one of their top 5 strengths. (Sorry, that sentence had excessive that’s.)  Or in the words of the website: “Intentionally expressing signature strengths in our close relationships, work, and communities can be deeply satisfying. It is: ‘living out loud.’”

It’s good to be happy.

Here are my top 5:

  1. Spirituality, sense of purpose, and faith
  2. Capacity to love and be loved
  3. Curiosity and interest in the world
  4. Gratitude
  5. Leadership

What are your top 5?

2 comments

  1. You asked….

    1. Spirituality, sense of purpose, and faith
    2. Curiosity and interest in the world
    3. Gratitude
    4. Humor and playfulness
    5. Hope, optimism, and future-mindedness

    I like being happy too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

