Episode 80: Burning Bridges

I was looking for something to do when I had free time (on lunch breaks, in the evenings, on the weekends). So I wrote an article. It’s absolutely RIVETING, too. I mean, if I were to turn it into a full-length novel it would garner positive reviews such as, “page-turner,” “won’t be able to put it down ONCE,” and “this book will change your life… for the BETTAH!”

The subject is JUST. THAT. FASCINATING.

So what is the subject, you might ask? It’s stated simply in the title.

Dreaming of a Business Analyst Career: A Personal Journey From QA To BA.

See what I mean? ENTHRALLING!

Of course, for the audience, it can be interesting. It’s on a website called ModernAnalyst.com, which is a resource for Business Analysts (BAs). I suppose that I wrote to my audience. Good job, ME.

You should read it. Really. At least read the first bit about what I wanted to be when I was in kindergarten. That is based on FACT and I still have the book from kindergarten to prove it. Nathan has seen it so he can be my witness.

And then scroll to the very bottom and read the author’s bio. This was my boss’s boss’s favorite part. I guess that’s how you compliment your employee on writing an article that was okay and you were just really stretching for a positive bit to tell them. Thanks boss’s boss!

A funny thing happened after I wrote this. Somebody posted a comment.

I know, who comments, right? People just read these business-y blogs or articles and then go on with their lives, never telling the author anything like, “hey, I read this and you should know.” I was mightily surprised.

And it was a long comment, too. So let me summarize it with this: “Jasporax” shared his resume with me, told me about a poor relationship he has with a coworker and then that this relationship kept him from getting a job as a BA. He even stated that he was certain that he was unfairly treated so didn’t feel the need to bend over backwards. But… how could he somehow get the BA job?

What I wanted to respond with was, “Go to a new company where you haven’t burned any bridges or else, you’re just going to have to bend so far backwards that you manage to reach the other side of the chasm and serve as the bridge yourself. Good luck.”

That’s not how I responded. Instead I used sympathetic phrases like, “sounds like a tough situation.” Maybe I’ll create a separate account there with a random user name like “TheHonestTruth” and comment: “Good luck, buddy. May the bridges you burn light the way.”

How would you have responded to this guy’s request for guidance?

Leave a Reply

