Simply an Account of the Weekend

I need to make new headers for these entries. It’s not so much Larrie’s World anymore as it is The World O’ The Elkins, or something. Turns out, I am selfish with my blog headers. Honestly.

Having a sick husband is no fun. It’s no fun because, when it’s the flu, there’s really little I can do to help him feel better. Feeling helpless, I tell you, is not my favorite feeling.

When I’m sick, it’s all I can do to get out of bed. I have a high pain tolerance for things like sprained ankles or dislocations, but feeling sick really puts me down in the dumps. I would have had a hard time feeling well enough to still go out to the movies if I had the flu. But my husband is a trooper.

Quick update for you of our sick-with-the-flu weekend:

  • I’m a mean wife so I made Nathan go to the clinic to see the doc. The verdict: the flu. The treatment: rest, fluids, ibuprofen, time.
  • We watched The Social Network at home on Friday night—pretty good movie where somehow, you end up feeling bad at the end of it for one of the youngest billionaires.
  • Saturday: slept in. Ah.
  • That afternoon, I went to a bridal shower for a girlfriend and as she opened gifts, I kept thinking, “oh good luck figuring out what store they bought that from to try and return it.” Makes it sound like we returned tons of gifts, but really only a few. Those few just happened to be from unknown stores or, perhaps, something they’d kept in storage for perhaps a decade just waiting for a wedding to take it to. Maybe 🙂
  • Made a list of things to do on the little whiteboard on the fridge, but didn’t get around to it. Things to do in the evenings this week instead now.
  • Fell asleep watching the documentary, Kicking It. Did YOU know that there is a homeless world cup? I just kept thinking, how stinky would those players be after their games? Oh dear.
  • Met up with Maren, Dustin, Mom and Dad for a “high class” date that started with food court dinner, then watching the movie, Rango (my review: random, really random), followed by sharing McDonald’s fries back in the food court before going home to bed.
  • Sunday, sat in really uncomfortable chairs for Stake Conference, but Elder Keetch told some really interesting stories for his message. I stayed awake the entire time. It’s tough to do when the chairs get uncomfortable sometimes.
  • Made some Belgian waffles for lunch and did not like the batter recipe. Maybe it was foggy out and that messed up whatever I did to mix it all together. We ate them anyway and Nathan was an extra kind husband and cleaned up the dishes.
  • Sunday afternoon nap. Ah.
  • Birthday dinner for Emma! Mick and Tracy provided delicious barbacoa pork salads for dinner and we finished that off with homemade tollhouse pie, also delicious, and Maren’s creation.

Wow, we still did so much despite Nathan feeling so sick. See how nice he is? Still doing all of these things we have on our schedule because he wants to make his wife happy? I’m a lucky duck.

Leave a Reply

