How’s Married Life?

I checked another to-do off of the list today when I paid the fee to get a new drivers license with my married name. And as I walked out the door, I was mentally moving on to the next item on the list. It is one mighty hassle to go about changing your name.

Apparently, I have a lot of things with my name on it, including this blog. What to do with this blog…

Now that I’m married, I get the same question from people all of the time: “How’s married life?”

Such an original question, right? And what do they expect when I’ve been married for less than a month? I could give them some details, and keep it appropriate for children.

“Well, married life is pretty great because now I have somebody to help me stretch the fitted sheet over the mattress, take the garbage out when it’s so cold outside, drive home when I’m tired after soccer, keep me warm at night, and make delicious dinners.”

Or I could tell them, “Life’s pretty great except for the house. I don’t know when it will ever be organized again with all the stuff we still have to figure out. We come home and step over boxes, have computers all over the house between the desktops and our laptops, own too many pots and pans for the space in the kitchen, and the bookshelf is stocked double deep with poetry, Shakespeare, literary analysis, and church books. Usually, I can find where the cat is hiding in the chaos of the 2nd bedroom, but sometimes I have to call from him and try to follow the sound of his mews. We’re currently plagued with affluence.”

So you tell me, which answer would you prefer?

I’m going to start asking my friends who have been married for much longer: “How’s married life?” After so much time, we stop asking that question. And I’m sure for the first however much time of being married, life will be fabulous.

That is my current, laconic answer to that question. “How’s married life?” “Fabulous!”

Except for the amount of time it takes to wait around at the Social Security office. Boring.

2 comments

  1. You should ask your been married longer friends how married life is. It would be interesting to see how if people answer you honestly. I will ask you in a year, sound good? 😀

    Like

  2. I’ve been married 13 years in June. It’s FABULOUS still. Love him more than ever, a deeper, more solid kind of love.

    But I have such fond memories of our first blissful year…

    Enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

