Episode 67: I’m all Yellow and White

Personality tests are fun.

Everybody loves doing something that, in the end, gives them a lengthy description all about themselves.

Back in the day, I took the Meyers-Briggs personality profile. My result: ENFP. Extraversion, Intuition, Feeling and Perceiving.

So then I learned all about me: my dominate quality in my life is my attention to the outer world of possibilities. I’m excited by continuous involvement in anything new: ideas, people, activities. But I also experience a deep concern for people. I’m energetic, enthusiastic and lead a spontaneous, adaptable life.

There it is.

One paragraph.

Everything about me, all wrapped up in one paragraph.

Apparently.

I took a new personality test at work last week: The Hartman Personality Profile, also known as The Color Code. Have you taken this one? Do you know what color you are?

I often wondered what color I am. I’d hear people say things like, “I’m a total red,” or “that guy is definitely a blue.”

What did it all mean?

Now, I know.

What color do you think I am?

Here’s a quick and dirty summary about the colors: Reds are the power wielders; Blues are the do-gooders; Whites are the peacekeepers; Yellows are the fun lovers.

My results: 36% Yellow, 31% White.

That’s me: A fun-loving peacekeeper. Surprised? I actually was. I was surprised that yellow was higher than white.

Now I have additional descriptions all about me to add to my ENFP profile.

From the Wikipedia page that describes each color, I picked out my favorite words to describe me. I love making lists so here’s another one and this one’s all about me. Fun!

  • Enthusiastic
  • Optimistic
  • Charming
  • Spontaneous
  • Lucky
  • Content
  • Kind
  • Patient
  • Accepting
  • Tactful
  • Devoid of ego

That last one is the best isn’t it? I also get a bit of a kick out of ‘Patient’ cuz that’s definitely not me. Or is it? Both are from the white personality description. It’s funny to me to read about the yellow and white personalities and try to combine them. For instance, yellows have tons of friends, but they’re superficial relationships. In contrast, whites have very few friends, but they’re good friends. I think I fall somewhere in between. Go me!

One comment

Leave a Reply

