There IS Such Thing as Too Much Soccer

Let me share with you a quick summary of the schedule that I followed on Saturday.

1:00 a.m. Get home from bike ride to Arts Fest and Gateway for movie, and shortly fall asleep in my contacts.
6:30 a.m. Alarm wakes me up.
6:50 a.m. Leave house mostly dressed in soccer gear to drive to West Jordan and finish getting dressed on the freeway (thank you cruise control, I am safe).
7:20 a.m. Arrive at soccer fields, put on shinguards, wonder why my contacts are blurry.
7:35 a.m. Soccer game begins; we are very tired, but manage to win 3-2 and somehow my jersey and shorts have dirt on front and back.
9:30 a.m. Watch our division 2 team play the game after ours (I’m on the division 1 team and we all try and cheer for each other); realize that I have dirt in my hair and under the elastic waist band of my shorts.
11:30 a.m. Leave the soccer fields.
12:00 p.m. Wash off all of the dirt.
12:35 p.m. Arrive at Mick and Tracy’s to watch the sad, sad U.S. vs Ghana World Cup Game… sad.
3:00 p.m. Fall asleep on the couch in their basement.
3:30 p.m. Wake up; play with kids, talk to siblings and Mom.
5:30 p.m. Make a trip to REI with Maren.
6:30 p.m. Get home and change back into soccer clothes.
6:40 p.m. Go to Cami’s “birthday bash.”
7:30 p.m. Leave the bash to drive to indoor soccer.
7:40 p.m. Arrive at soccer to learn that all of the games are 40 minutes behind because of a major injury in a previous game.
8:50 p.m. Finally start playing my game originally scheduled for 8:10 p.m.
9:50 p.m. Go to Tony’s Bar for Cirbie’s birthday party.
11:00 p.m. Leave Tony’s Bar to drive back to indoor soccer.
11:20 p.m. Play soccer game that was originally scheduled for 10:40 p.m.
12:10 a.m. Play fourth soccer game of the day that was originally scheduled for 11:30 p.m.
1:00 a.m. Leave indoor soccer to go home, shower and go to bed.

I want you to know that I have come to the realization that I am on too many soccer teams. This is a very sad thing for me to admit because I play soccer with all of my friends. I am addicted to the social aspect of it. Thankfully, my body is happy for the cardio although it is unhappy for the sore muscles.

I told one of my friends that I won’t be playing with her for the next indoor soccer session. It was a sad conversation for both of us but it had to be done. My back and toe have since thanked me. I’m glad they did because I did it for them, not for me.

I am in a group on Facebook. It’s called “I Can’t I Have Soccer.”

The end.

Leave a Reply

