Happy Thoughts on London

I had a FABULOUS vacation to London over Easter. I went with Megs, met up with Monica and added people to the trip throughout (Michael, Annie, Britt, Niall, etc). If I were to write a travelogue on our adventures, it’d turn into a novel. I am rather effusive, after all. Instead, how about a list of some of my random thoughts on the trip? What a GREAT plan. And then, a nifty video I put together of our pictures. Hope you fancy that idea.

  • Do not ride in the Quiet Carriage. Especially avoid this when riding the train to Oxford with boisterous friends and none of you knew that you were in said car.
  • Mormon hookups are superb.*
  • Adding new friends to trips means cheaper train tickets (2 for 1 deals) and new Facebook friends! (Give it up for FB making it possible to keep in touch with new London friends.)
  • Being a student at Oxford made me smarter, saved me money, and gave me all sorts of free access.
  • Sharing two mattresses with two other friends does not make for a good night’s rest.
  • I am truly, madly, deeply a HUGE fan of crumpets.
  • When I’m rich, I’m going to own a house in Bath and visit in the summer.
  • Faraway horses look like small horses.
  • I’m horrible at putting on a British accent.
  • Walking straight is difficult when you’re constantly surrounded by amazing history and architecture.
  • When I returned to the states, it was difficult to look LEFT first and to actually cross the road at a crosswalk.
  • I miss British chocolate; my waistline would not miss it, though.
  • Donkeys that run castles are fantastic. And they’re not even stinky either.
  • If the Queen asked me to move into Windsor Castle just for the company, I wouldn’t turn her down.
  • There were big rocks at Stonehenge. wow. (That was an INTENTIONALLY lowercase wow.)
  • Wicked and 39 Steps were absolutely worth the ticket prices.
  • Playing soccer again with Monica after all that time was the HIGHLIGHT of the trip! (She assisted me on a goal, too.)
  • Attending a football match meant realizing Americans have no clue how to really cheer on their team. Brits taunt the other fans excessively, they chant and chant for the entire game, nobody sits down and it is definitely not a kid-friendly environment.
  • I know we have Starbucks in the states, but I had no clue that strawberry cream drinks were delightful until having one in London.
  • I almost wanted to go back to school just to be a REAL student at Oxford.
  • Nobody even reacted when the announcement in the Tube station stated that ‘The Jubilee line was experiencing delays due to a PERSON UNDER THE TRAIN.’
  • My feet hurt.
  • Mmmmmmm, chocolate.


*When I read over this list after finishing it (to proofread, of course), I realized this sounded like I “got some” on my trip. Really, it means that I had instant friends thanks to religion and they trusted us enough to hook us up with some great stuff like a free place to stay in Oxford.

4 comments

  1. Thank you for indulging me! The video was fantastic. I hope to make it to Britain one day. It looks completely dreamy and you look like a babe in all the photos.

    Like

  2. That was some quality editing! Maybe you should re-think your career.

    And, Imogen Heap is coming to SLC (again… I saw her last November and she was freakin’ amazing) on June 12th. I want to go. A lot. I kinda have a new baby though, so we’ll have to see.

    Do you still want to be my friend even though I haven’t commented on your blog in about a hundred years?

    Check yes___ or no___.

    Lastly, do you know what the best part of that video was? (apart from the superb choice in music, of course…) The high-speed duck.

    Like

  3. @sabrina – glad you enjoyed it and the trip was aMAZing; I hope you make it there one day, too

    @clancy – heeeey, I remember you. and now I know that there are some tickets I may want to buy… except Imogen didn’t check with me to see if I had some buddies getting married on that same day, hmmm; anyway, here’s my answer: yes X
    oh, and, so glad you loved the diving duck because, clearly, the purpose of it was for comedic effect!

    Like

  4. Rude of Imogen. She didn’t check with me either to see if I might have a new baby who nurses a lot. Seriously. Doesn’t she consider the important people in her life?

    I really loved all the fast-moving videos. They were awesome. And that song is my fav… or one of them. I have a lot of Imogen favs.

    The End.

    Like

Leave a Reply

