Master Larrie the Graduate

Last week, I was absent from the blog world. I have no commitment with you people, apparently. How terrible.

Instead, I spent much of my time with my precious laptop giving myself a headache writing my LAST PAPER EVER for my master’s degree. Can you believe it? Two and a half long years of going to school in the evening (summer’s included), I can finally say that I’m done done done done done done done done AND done!

I finished the last sentence on Thursday night.

And then I celebrated by dancing around my home.

And then I celebrated by making a gingerbread house at Maren’s. Isn’t that how YOU would celebrate?

And then I celebrated some more by going hot tubbing with Megs. It was perfect because it was well below freezing, we were surrounded by snow and Megs put in the new John Mayer CD to listen to.

And then I celebrated some more by going with this hot guy that I know for some midnight Mexican. Well, it was kind of midnight.

And then I celebrated some more by getting up early on Friday to iron my gown and hood, meeting up with my parents at Alberto’s, driving to Logan, walking across Utah State in the 4 degree temperature and participating in graduation. Please begin referring to me as Master Larrie the Graduate now. Thank you very much!

And then I celebrated some more with a party that Megs threw for me where we had a smorgasbord of goodness to eat, we played some mean games of Twister, and I did a terrible job of trying to sound like a wicked witch while playing Curses.

And then I celebrated some more with a baby shower for Ali, and then a headache that sent me to bed for a bit, and then off to the Tabernacle Choir’s Christmas concert, and then Wal-Mart and then watch a movie by myself because, despite the lack of sleep all week, I couldn’t fall asleep.

And then I celebrated by going to the Tab Choir’s Sunday morning concert with this hot guy I know and then to church and then to my parents’ for dinner and then to a musical fireside for the Stake where I promptly fell asleep.

And that, my internet friends, is how you celebrate finally finishing graduate school.

HIP HIP POORAY!

8 comments

  1. Congratulations, Master Larrie! You deserve to not sleep for a week or so!! ? Not sure what that means, but it feels like something I would do too, were it me who got my master’s degree…

    What I want to know more about is the hot guy! 🙂 Dooo tell. 😉

    Like

  2. Larry.

    I am so happy for you.

    WE are both Masters of our Domain (although, not in the Seinfeld way).

    Isn’t it a great feeling?

    Are you going to join me in the adventure of a PHD one day? Then we can both be Dr’s.

    Dr.Lauren Campbell
    Dr. Laina Campbell
    (How nice they both sound)

    But for now it will have to be Master Lauren, which isn’t too bad either.

    Like

  3. Woohoo! I am very excited for you.

    It took me a little while to have it sink in that I was done. Then one day I was driving and I had this feeling that I was supposed to be at home studying or doing something else beside the nothing I was doing….then I remember! I AM DONE!

    I hope you get to relax and indulge for at least a good chunk of time.

    Like

  4. @clancy – so far so good on the not sleeping since graduation, but not like you’re really surprised by that
    @golightly – wow… that’s all I have… wow (and hahahaha)
    @laina – I’ll get a PhD with you only if it means I can do it without going to school or ever writing another paper… not likely? (oh and thanks for correcting the spelling on my name, hahaha)
    @aimee – okay, so it will hit me one day that I really don’t have to do school? I’m really looking forward to that. I still think there’s probably an assignment due soon. I’m totally going to relax and indulge and not write long, boring papers, hooray!!
    @sabrina – thank you thank you! I’d forgotten what free time was 🙂

    Like

  5. Have to add my congratulations. You are not only beautiful and good but very smart. So very proud of all you do. Love you so much, Grandma C

    Like

Leave a Reply

