Episode 44: 20 Ways to Boost your Energy at Work

I came across a list of ways to boost your energy at work on the blog, ZenHabits. As I read through it, I thought, yeah, some of those sound like good ideas. On the other hand, some could be very dangerous. Can you realize how potent the air in IT would become if ALL OF THE PROGRAMMERS CHANGED THEIR SOCKS AFTER LUNCH? It would be worse than the when employees got sick because somebody cleaned out a fridge full of rotten food.

Feel free to follow the link above to their website and peruse their list of ways to get more energy. Or, have a look-see at MY list of ways around HERE that we try to stay alert:

  1. Attend an on-site gym class – this only works for those IT employees who don’t sweat profusely, otherwise, they might as well just change their socks.
  2. Clear your throat – only do this one if you don’t clear your throat ALL THE TIME, EVERY DAY and drive your coworkers on the other side of your foamy cubicle walls NUTS.
  3. Make snow angels against the wall – seriously, try it, with your knees bent enough so that your lower back is against the wall, keep your shoulders against the wall, keep your elbows and wrists against the wall. I can’t, FOR THE LIFE OF ME, touch my hands above my head and still have them against the wall, but I found that most (normal) people CAN.
  4. Drink water – I USED to drink Diet Coke, when I USED to take Diet Coke breaks with Janet when she USED to work here; now, I drink lots of water because it’s FREE and I have to pay a mortgage so those Diet Cokes are totally OUT of the budget.
  5. Eat chocolate that you’re hiding in the back of a locked filing cabinet – enough said.
  6. Check the little basket on the outside of the developer’s cubicle wall – if it’s empty, check it again in a few minutes and then complain about there not being any treats inside.
  7. Watch the quarterly mandatory training events taking place at work – this may include fires intentionally started in the parking lot so that office workers can use fire extinguishers, watching a medical helicopter land, or watching a presentation by the police department on what their dogs can do to your arm if you smell like a criminal.
  8. Search through pictures of coworkers looking for the cute guy from the 2nd floor whose name you don’t know… yet.
  9. Go to bed at a decent hour – try this and let me know how it goes… I almost NEVER do it.
  10. Try some Provigil – I’m all out of mine so I can’t share, but that stuff will keep you awake.
  11. Take a trip to the middle stall – a bathroom break ALWAYS makes me feel better; especially when I am BM-ing like a rockstar!
  12. Don’t smoke – but feel free to watch coworkers from the window who are smoking while Conder times the length of their breaks.
  13. Play a game embedded in Excel – because work blocks games online like this paper plane flying one, but we’ve got our own version in an Excel file (meaning, not blocked); mind you, it can be addicting so only start playing about 10 minutes before it’s time to go.
  14. Run through the sprinklers – now that we’re all worried about being “green” I have no idea how you’ll find sprinklers in the middle of the day, but if you do, BY ALL MEANS, run through them.
  15. Lie on a roller and have your friend push on your shoulders – this almost always cracks my back and makes me feel mightily better. Mightily.
  16. Clean off your phone with an alcohol prep – I do this almost once a week even though I hardly get phone calls, but still, the alcohol wafting around your cube will wake you up and you’ll feel good knowing that you’ve got a sterile ear piece for when that phone does ring.
  17. Yoga – I hate when people schedule meetings during the yoga classes they offer at work because then I can’t go so instead, I go sleep in those meetings. Ah, revenge.
  18. Visit Bret and his massage chair – I just have to ignore that the onsite massages are offered by an older guy with a ‘stache and a mullet; he gives great massages regardless and they’re pretty affordable, too.
  19. Play some Frisbee – I only accomplished this ONE TIME at work and a coworker sprained her ankle when she nearly ran into a fire hydrant, but I’m still trying to find somebody who will take a short Frisbee break with me.
  20. I also have a kite in my trunk.
One comment

  1. I haven’t given in to the old guy with the massage chair just yet, so I have to admire you for that one. When I attempt to do things to boost my productivity, I usually end up messing around even more (hence me reading your blog and actually commenting!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

