Social Intelligence: The New Science of Human Relationships

Yes, it’s been a while since we’ve done a book review. I apologize. Profusely. But here’s a great one for you.

I read Daniel Goleman’s book, Emotional Intelligence, several years ago. It’s an insightful book that I would recommend so when I saw his follow-up book, Social Intelligence, in the audiobook section at the library, I snatched it up.

I listened to this book while driving to work, about town, or sitting in my car at the McDonald’s drive thru. In it, Goleman describes how the brain reacts when we interract with others and in so doing, he describes the influence of our social interactions. Did you know that when you watch a movie, your brain’s chemical reactions are the exact same as they would be if you watched a murder, sex, etc in real life? So I guess we’ve told ourselves, “this is only a movie,” but our brains didn’t get the memo. Makes you think next time you go to an R-rated movie (maybe).

I have to tell you that I kept on thinking about LDS gospel principles while reading this. I know; I’m about to get serious here. Prepare yourselves.

Goleman talks about how our social interractions can actually mold human biology. So the people that we interract with most, the movies we see, the books we read, the music we listen to can actually affect the makeup of our brain. Have you ever wondered how in the world you can possibly attempt to become more like the Savior? Have you ever wondered if your choices like which radio station you listen to on the way to work might do more than just provide you with a good beat while you sit in traffic?

I think I’ll need to purchase this book so that I can read it again and again in hopes of learning how to better connect with others. By the way, Goleman also mentioned the #1 attraction for men AND women. So are you curious enough now? Don’t you want to know what that guy is REALLY looking for in a little wifey? And no, it’s not how cute she looks in an apron…

Guess you better get the book and find out.

(I gave my dad this audiobook for his birthday. Hope he liked it.)

2 comments

  1. Yes, I’m curious enough now. I don’t think I’ll read it any time soon as I’m currently on my fiction jag. I do like hearing about it though, and I also like the serious side of Larrie. Very good food for thought in this post. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

