A Potrait of the Artist as a Young Man

Here’s a little twist on this week’s book review… let’s review a book that I never finished: A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man.

I gave up on reading this because I couldn’t follow Joyce’s stream of consciousness. I kept on losing focus; apparently, MY own stream of consciousness was more interesting than Stephen Dedalus’s (the main character). I’ve tried to read this book TWICE, too, because apparently, I didn’t want to fail only once.

Maybe I should try to “read” it as an audio book. Only I don’t know how that would keep my attention any better. See, that’s my problem with reading sometimes: I have to be more interested in the book than I am in my own thoughts. I have really interesting thoughts, I’ll have you know.

What I remember from the parts that I did pay attention were that he started with childhood memories that included his parents and various Irish Catholic priests. This book is constantly praised for Joyce’s prose and description and for its use of stream of consciousness. I feel like an English major failure because I haven’t been able to read this.

I did read the Cliff Notes before I took a test on it. Way to go me.


P.S. Jennie and Jarv had a new baby girl today! Picture to come…

4 comments

  1. I know, I know… you’ve missed my comments haven’t you? Right. Moving on.

    I like this book review of a non-finished book. I’ve had several of those. Obasan, Tess of the D’Urberville’s (or however you spell that wretched, wretched book’s title), Ann Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl among others I can’t remember because they were too lumbering and painful for me to read.

    I do love me a good book, but if those books were good, then I’m Peter Pan.

    Like

  2. I’m sorry to hear that you downed Tess like a drunk. I wanted to kill myself when I read Tess… or didn’t finish reading Tess. Maybe I did finish and I blocked it out? I really can’t remember. I just remember hating it.

    I don’t know if we can be friends anymore because you liked it. You’re so intolerant. Don’t you know that I didn’t like Tess? You’re so hateful! I’m going to have a protest against Tess of the D’Urbervilles and post signs on my lawn about intolerance by the people who like it.

    And stuff.

    Ok, so really I just like to make fun of people who think that the definition of intolerance = a differing of opinions.

    Like

  3. I have a brand new niece, Tess, who was born on Saturday and all I just keep wondering whether or not she’ll like the book. I have many years to wait for that conclusion.
    But now I know that I have destroyed my great friendship with you due to that book. Boo. Tis a sad day indeed.
    I don’t say indeed enough… that is all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

