I Miss Afternoon Kindergarten

I don’t get along with mornings. We just can’t see eye-to-eye because mornings won’t give up their long-held views of being in the morning and I can’t change my life-long stance of not liking them. It’s been difficult for both of us.

Wait, no; I take that back. Mornings could care less about how I feel about them. It’s only been difficult for me. I just haven’t been able to learn ANY mind over mattress skills… at ANY time in my life. Including these points:

  • Kindergarten – you would think the daily desire to sleep in might be something that developed over time. You might but you’d be wrong. I can still remember how my Mom told me that she would put me in afternoon kindergarten or else I would never make it on time. She was worried about me going into first grade for two reasons: school would start around 8:00 a.m. (in the MORNING) and I would eat lunch at school with apparently terrible table manners.*
  • Seminary Council – It may have been my Dad, not sure, but at least one of my parents expressed some concern when I was on the LDS seminar council my senior year. Why? It had nothing to do with whether or not they thought I was spiritual enough or if I could do a good job. It was the fact that the council met EARLY IN THE MORNING before the start of regular school (which was already EARLY IN THE MORNING). If school started around 7:40 a.m. and we met before that, those meetings truly were EARLY IN THE MORNING. And the only way I could possibly make it to them was if I was responsible for getting somebody else to those meetings, too, so I would carpool with Lindsey. Hooray for friends!
  • Biology 100 – Obviously, I didn’t have Louise** around to STOP me from signing up for a TEN A.M. class my freshman year at BYU. And to top it off, it was a class with about 800 students so it’s not like the professor would notice if I wasn’t in attendance. Oh, and one more thing to top off the topping off: it was mostly graded on test performance so when I already had the book and the syllabus gave me the dates of the tests, guess when I went to class?
  • Door-to-door Sales – I ended up in Chambersburg, PA the summer after that blessed freshman year in an attempt to make the big bucks selling books door-to-door. While I only made an okay amount of money in the end, the lessons I learned about myself made the experience worth it. The funny thing is, that I thought that by the end of the summer, it would be easy to wake up at 6:00 a.m. because I had been doing it EVERY DAY. I was SO wrong. The minute the summer ended, I slept in. Probably until noon so that I woke up in the AFTERNOON.

I’ve done a LOT of self-analysis (in the last 30 seconds) and determined my reason for disliking mornings so much is this: I really like to sleep and by the time I finally DO fall asleep, I don’t want to get up… ever.


Political Link of the Day: “How Much Should You Give?” (thanks Katie)

[New York Governor] Paterson and his wife apparently gave just $150 to charity in 2007—out of an income of $269,815—and earned a rousing Bronx cheer from many New Yorkers.


*Is there nobody ELSE out there who may have preferred eating the edge of their hot dog first before consuming the mystery meat on the inside when they were 6? Eating it like a typewriter was just more amusing than sticking it in a bun.

**Louise was the academic counselor that brought me back from the brink of academic expulsion by telling me to “get real” with my goals. That meant scheduling classes after noon (making them AFTERNOON classes, not MORNING classes) and taking them from the best professors.

5 comments

  1. Did you sell with Southwestern? I work with the SW alumni department and try to keep in touch with our multitudes of alumni.

    I sold for eight summers–and I still don’t like mornings either. I remember telling my mom how impressed she would be with my ability to get up at 6 am and like it; oh how easy the bad habits creep back in. 🙂

    Like

  2. I have no clue how I did it (SC) in the AM as well. I HATE mornings. Josh, my # 1 is so my child, and would sleep in every day if it wasn’t for Jack (# 2), his roomate who wakes up at 7:00. Oh wait, I just took an AM kindergarten teaching job… I must hate myself enough to go deal with 5-yr-olds before I would normally get up. Now my brain is “trained” to wake up at 6:30 even on the weekends. How awful.

    Will we ever sleep in again?

    Like

  3. Boo to mornings. I do my best work post 12 p.m. And yet I have a job that wants me in by 7 am.

    When I took this job my friends were laying down bets on how long I’d last before I quit. I don’t think any of them would have guessed 3+ years. Which means I should totally collect on some pots.

    Like

  4. @Linds – I honestly had NO idea that you weren’t a morning person either. How in the world did I miss that?

    @Katie – 7am?! Why are you still there?

    Like

Leave a Reply

