Breaking Dawn

So this would be my last post where I make a shout out to somebody who took my quiz so what did I do? I posted a comment on Cousin Adam’s Facebook wall, asking him what three of his favorite books were. No, no, don’t worry, my cousin didn’t ACTUALLY say that Breaking Dawn was his favorite. He said, “Uhhh…encyclopedia, dictionary, thesaurus.” Nice. I chose not to write a review about one of those (do people still read encyclopedias?), but we can talk about the last book that I read: Breaking Dawn.

If you’re planning on reading this book, you might not want to read my review. You can’t really talk much about the plot without giving away the “big” surprise. SO STOP READING NOW so you can’t complain to me about ruining it for you.

The hardest part about this book was trying not to cringe everytime somebody hissed, cringed, etc. How come Stephanie Meyer’s editor didn’t make her use different descriptions after one chapter already included enough hissing for any decent cat fight? Before long, I started imagining all of the vampires spitting, due to the excessive hissing.

It sure seemed like a lot of pages just to tell us about some giddy, human girl marrying a vampire and then creating a human/vampire hybrid baby with her statuesque husband. But get this… Meyer even tried to suggest what the DNA makeup of this hybrid would be. Seriously?

I will say, though, that it was an easy read and fairly interesting plot, even if I could guess what would happen next a few pages prior. Anybody else, though, think that the Twilight series books were all a bit downhill after Meyer’s first book? Maybe it was my mistake for comparing her with other great young adult authors (think J. K. Rowling, C. S. Lewis, Madeleine L’Engle, Louise Plummer, etc). Think they’ll change the screenplay much if they continue making movies based on the books?

6 comments

  1. I agree about all the hissing etc. Although I have to say this book was light years ahead in terms of writing than Twilight. Was it up to good? Probably not. But at least I didn’t have to read about musical laughs or her wildly beating heart every freaking other paragraph.

    My real problem came with the book when there was no resolution of the main antagonist. Sure the Volturi skulked off, but that doesn’t count as a win. And it certainly doesn’t provide any resolution to their vendetta against the Cullen clan. I can’t help but compare it to J.K. Rowling’s finish, where the battle between good and evil was actually resolved. Novel concept.

    I felt like she wanted to save all her characters from heartbreak and death. And I think a good author has to love her characters enough to be willing to sacrifice them occasionally. I’m sorry, but Rosalie and Emmett were practically designed as sacrificial characters. I mean, what would Anna Karenina be if she had lived?

    All that being said. I didn’t hate the book as much as it sounds like. I was just a little disappointed.

    Like

  2. I was really surprised at how much I enjoyed the first book. While I found the characters to be annoying-I admit, after the first fifty pages, I got really hooked. You’re right though, it was all downhill from that first book-the last one was awful. People hissed and cringed and whispered and had marble skin throughout the series-but somehow, it was easier to ignore. I guess I was hoping, particularly in the last novel, that with superhuman strength Bella wouldn’t turn out to be as vapid and whiny as she had been throughout the rest of the novels-but she was actually worse. And honestly? Nothing really happened!

    Like

  3. @katie – I think you should write my reviews for me… so much bettah

    @uberfrau – so why did we all get hooked with the first book even though it was so poorly written?

    Like

  4. I can’t really explain it-before I got into it, I had a moment where I put it down and didn’t think that I was going to read it-I bought it for my classroom library, so it didn’t matter. I just happened to come home early-and forged on because I wasn’t tired. I think it satiated some sort of inner teenage girl I had forgotten about. What I can’t understand is why I then bought the next three books. It’s not like I started reading them a year ago and have looked forward to buying new ones with mild anticipation-no, I read the whole saga in a long weekend. It was a definite binge.

    Like

  5. The thing is, I understand why I love Harry Potter-I mean, they’re just great stories-well written-interesting. And even some of Meg Cabot’s series-like the mediator series-she’s funny-had a great voice. Maybe Meyer’s touches the same place in me that love soft rock and the ghost whisperer?

    Like

  6. @uberfrau – Somebody should start a study on why we read these kinds of books when they’re clearly so bad (and I’m definitely NOT clumping any Harry Potter books into the “these kinds of books” groups).

    Like

Leave a Reply

