My Heaven has a Men’s Chorus

When was the last time you went to a beautiful, old (as in old for a building build in Utah) church and hear a group of men (half of them as old as the building) singing barbershop? Never? Shoot, I should have called you Friday night.

I went to the 78th Annual Spring Program of the Swanee Singers Friday night. It met all of the above requirements. In part due to listening to men sing with their deep voices (I heart men’s choirs, even when they’re slightly off tune every now and then), watching G crawl under the pews to get to the back of the chapel and the bathroom (G’s not a 5-year old), and in part due to the Mortuary and Antler Attic advertisements in the back of the program, the concert was a smashing hit in my book.

Highlights (because we love lists on Larrie’s blog):

  • One of the grandmothers that came to the concert had a big band-aid across her nose–and I was worried about a tiny, red zit next to my lip. One day, I won’t care, either. I look forward to that.
  • In one song that the guest soloist (Ms. Webster) sang about siamese twins, there was the line, “who will proudly stand beside me, who will love me as I am?” See? I don’t have issues… there’s nobody attached to my hip. I’m not a siamese twin. There’s nothing wrong with me for living in Utah and not having a brood by now. (I have OTHER issues that are more entertaining and provide for better stories, especially when there’s Ambien involved.)
  • Ed, somebody’s adorable grandpa, sang the solo for “Any Dream Will Do” (from Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat) and according to their conductor, he sang it at their dress rehearsal in a loincloth. Grandpas are funny.
  • There was a single woman in front of us, probably in her later 40s who sat rolling her eyes while the guest artist sang, “there’s a fine fine line between love and a waste of time.” After the song ended, single woman said, “I’d dedicate that song…” BITTER. But her hair, was a WINNER. (See below.) I was impressed; I couldn’t get my hair to do that if my life depended on it.

And to finish off the night, G’s quote in the car leaving, “If I was a guy, I’d totally be gay.”

Leave a Reply

